NPWT Evidence Library
NPWT Evidence Library › Wound types › Amputation stump wounds

Amputation stump wounds

Amputation stump wounds (dehiscence, infection, necrosis)

SA evidence position: Moderatei 48 sources2 supporting NPWT at GRADE High or Moderate certainty
The SA evidence position is this library's synthesis, not an official guideline.

A dehisced, infected, or partially necrotic stump after major or minor lower-limb amputation — NPWT to salvage stump length and achieve closure without re-amputating to a higher level.

Protocol (PDF)All 48 sourcesReferences (RIS)Spreadsheet (CSV)

Evidence in one minute

What the evidence supports

  • Over a closed amputation incision, two small randomised trials found less infection: 16% vs 51% with ordinary ward foam at 80 mmHg (Meena 2024, 62 patients), and 12% vs 36%, of borderline significance, with prosthesis eligibility 1.7 weeks sooner (Vaddavalli 2023, 50 patients). Pooled: OR 0.52 for wound complications (Frodl 2022).
  • After partial diabetic foot amputation, more open wounds healed: 56% vs 39% (Armstrong 2005, 162 patients).
  • Open contaminated wounds, stumps included: 92% durable closure (Shweiki 2013).
  • After breakdown, muscle flaps with NPWT preserved below-knee length (Rogers 2016, South Africa).

Uncertain or not shown

  • Both amputation trials are small, unblinded and at high risk of bias, and neither included the under-perfused stump.
  • The independent randomised trial that included amputation dehiscence did not meet its healing endpoint (Villalba-Aguilar 2026).
  • Healing takes weeks to months: after open foot resection, delayed closure came at a mean of 58 days, usually with a skin graft (Schwartz 2015).

Do not use when

  • Proximal perfusion will not support healing: measure it, and restore it first.
Usual settings: standard NPWT over a well-perfused stump; low pressure where perfusion is marginal; instillation (NPWTi-d) for an infected stump that needs cleansing.

Key studies

RCTGRADE ⊕⊕◯◯ Low2024Supports NPWT

An improvised incisional NPWT that needs no proprietary dressing

Surgical site infection following incisional negative pressure wound therapy in lower limb amputation closure: A randomized controlled trial — Meena SP, Shetty SD, Badkur M, Lodha M, Rodha MS, Chaudhary R, et al · Journal of Education and Health Promotion 2024;13:472
What it found
OutcomeiNPWT (n=31)Standard (n=31)p
Surgical site infection5 (16%)16 (51%)0.003
Superficial SSI2 (7%)9 (29%)0.02
Deep SSI3 (10%)7 (23%)0.17
Reintervention8 (26%)16 (52%)0.037
Postoperative stay, days5.8 (SD 2.5)8.2 (SD 5.9)0.043
Readmission4 (13%)6 (19%)0.490
30-day mortality2 (6%)1 (3%)0.554
6-month mortality4 (13%)4 (13%)1.000
Prosthesis fitted22 (70.9%)19 (61.2%)0.421
Return to work20 (64.5%)18 (58%)0.602

Risk ratio for the standard dressing versus iNPWT: 3.2 (95% CI 1.33 to 7.65).

By closure timing: primary closure 5/28 (17.85%) versus 12/23 (52.17%), p = 0.0096; delayed closure 0/3 versus 4/8, p = 0.2364.

Below-knee converted to above-knee: 2/19 (10%) versus 2/14 (14%).

Organisms among infected stumps: Klebsiella pneumoniae 28.5%, E. coli 19%, Pseudomonas aeruginosa 14.3%.

The control-arm infection rate of 51% is the finding worth carrying — roughly three times the rate in the European stump trials the wiki holds, in a population with 50% wet gangrene and 40% diabetes.

Limitations
  • The Results text misstates superficial SSI. "Seven percent patients in the iNPWT group had superficial SSI compared to the standard dressing group (51%) which was significant (P = 0.02)." Table 3 gives superficial SSI as 9 (29%) in the standard arm. 51% is that arm's TOTAL SSI rate, and the p-value of 0.02 belongs to the 7% versus 29% comparison.
  • Three errors in one sentence on prosthesis and work. "Of the 54 patients, 41 (75.9%) had a prosthetic limb fitted and had resumed return to work (P = 0.602)." Table 3 gives prosthesis 41/62 (66.1%) and return to work 38/62 (61.2%) as separate outcomes, with p = 0.421 and p = 0.602 respectively.
  • Baseline text versus table. "52% of patients enrolled in the study were habitual smokers or had a history of tobacco chewing" — the table gives smoking 29/62 (47%) and tobacco chewing 13/62 (21%); 52% is the iNPWT arm's smoking figure alone.
  • Follow-up is stated three ways: 4 weeks in Methods, 6 months in the Table 3 heading and Results, and the CDC 30-day (90-day high-risk) definition in the outcome definition.
  • The abstract claims a cost benefit the paper disclaims. The Conclusion states iNPWT reduces "the cost of treatment"; the Discussion states "In the present study, cost-effectiveness was not an outcome that was studied."
  • Registration followed recruitment. CTRI registration September 2021, recruitment opened July 2021.
  • "Consent was obtained or waived by all participants" is printed twice, in a trial requiring prospective consent.
  • Baseline imbalance, acknowledged but not adjusted. The standard arm had more diabetes (48% vs 32%), hypertension (45% vs 32%), tobacco chewing, alcohol, trauma (19% vs 4%) and delayed closures (26% vs 10%); the iNPWT arm was older with more smoking. No multivariable adjustment is performed anywhere.
  • Reinterventions (24 patients) exceed infections (21 patients), which the authors attribute to dehiscence without infection, ischaemic progression and late infection.
  • Trauma in the iNPWT arm is printed as "1 (4%)"; 1/31 = 3.2%.

Everything else reconciles exactly, including 5/31, 16/31, the risk ratio of 3.2, the subgroup denominators and all three table totals of 62.

Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 2 · Start HIGH (randomised trial). -1 risk of bias: the trial is open-label with no blinding of participants, personnel or outcome assessors, and the primary outcome - surgical site infection assessed on postoperative day 4 - is a judgement made by clinicians who can see which arm the patient is in; the authors state plainly it is 'an open-label study, with no blinding'. Allocation concealment is adequate (sequentially numbered opaque sealed envelopes) and the sequence generation is adequate. -1 imprecision: 62 patients against a calculated requirement of 31 per group derived from an assumed reduction from 48% to 7%, an assumption taken from a review of retrospective series; the observed risk ratio of 3.2 carries a 95% confidence interval of 1.33 to 7.65, wide enough to include an effect a third of the point estimate. Not downgraded for indirectness OR inconsistency, and not downgraded for the baseline imbalance, because the imbalance runs AGAINST the intervention arm's favour in some respects and towards it in others and, decisively, the control arm carried more diabetes (48% against 32%), more hypertension, more tobacco chewing, more alcohol, more trauma (19% against 4%) and more delayed closures (26% against 10%) - a configuration that inflates the observed effect. No multivariable adjustment is performed anywhere, and the authors acknowledge the imbalance without addressing it: 'With these differences in both groups, the application of incisional NPWT reduced the incidence of SSIs in lower limb amputation stumps significantly.' Net low. The effect size is the thing to interrogate: SSI 16% against 51% is roughly three times the separation seen in the European stump trials this wiki holds, and a 51% control-arm infection rate is itself the most transferable number in the paper - it is the baseline risk of a public-sector amputation stump in a middle-income setting, and a large absolute risk reduction from a high baseline is a different funding argument from a small one from a low baseline.

Figures: Figures checked

Meena SP, Shetty SD, Badkur M, Lodha M, Rodha MS, Chaudhary R, Sharma N. Surgical site infection following incisional negative pressure wound therapy in lower limb amputation closure: A randomized controlled trial. Journal of Education and Health Promotion. 2024;13:472.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-08-01
RCTGRADE ⊕⊕◯◯ Low2023Supports NPWT

The first randomised trial on the amputation-stump page, and its headline depends on a test choice

Effectiveness of incisional negative pressure wound therapy after major lower extremity amputation: a randomised controlled trial — Vaddavalli VV, Girdhani B, Savlania A, Behera A, Rastogi A, Kaman L, et al · Annals of the Royal College of Surgeons of England 2023;106(5):418-424
What it found
OutcomeiNPWT (25)Standard (25)p as printedRecomputed
Surgical site infection3 (12%)9 (36%)0.047 (chi-square)Fisher 0.0955; RR 0.33 (0.10-1.09)
Wound dehiscence2 (8%)7 (28%)0.138 (Fisher)RR 0.29 (0.07-1.24)
Seroma or haematoma1 (4%)2 (8%)1.000—
Revision amputation0 (0%)3 (12%)0.235—
Time to stump healing and prosthesis eligibility5.12 ± 1.53 weeks6.8 ± 1.95 weeks0.002MD 1.68 weeks (0.71-2.65)

Device: CCNPWT (Triage Meditech, New Delhi) — silicone contact layer, polyurethane foam, adhesive film, continuous 125 mmHg, applied immediately after skin closure. Duration is stated two ways: removed on the sixth postoperative day (Methods) and 5 days (flow diagram). The comparator is described three different ways — removed after 48 hours (Methods), once or twice daily (figure), twice a day or at least daily (discussion).

Limitations
  • The test-choice problem (boxed above), which determines whether the trial's only significant primary outcome is significant.
  • No effect estimate and no confidence interval is reported for any outcome — only p-values.
  • The whole-cohort prosthesis-time figure does not reconcile. Table 2 gives 6.18 ± 2.18 weeks for all 50; the two arm values imply 5.96 ± 1.93. Working backwards, 6.18 would require a control mean of 7.24, not 6.8. No subset or missing data is declared.
  • Amputation level is not reported per arm, so the arms cannot be checked for balance on the strongest prognostic variable for stump healing. Neither is perfusion or revascularisation.
  • There is no conflict-of-interest statement anywhere in the paper — no competing-interests section, no author contributions, no data-availability statement. The funder is the authors' own department; the device is a commercial Indian product and no manufacturer role is described or excluded.
  • The uncontrolled-diabetes subgroup is presented as a finding — "in high-risk patients with uncontrolled DM, there was a decreased incidence of SSI" — from p = 0.0506 by the authors' own arithmetic, not pre-specified, no interaction test, n = 24, and by Fisher's exact (appropriate here, expected counts 2.9 and 2.1) p = 0.122.
  • Patient satisfaction and pain are claimed in the Discussion and were never measured. "We noticed higher satisfaction in patients in the iNPWT group" — neither is an outcome, an instrument or a result.
  • The Conclusions claim reduction of "wound-related complications", plural. Only one of four reached significance, and only under one test choice.
  • Mortality, length of stay and readmission are not reported at all, and no patient is reported to have received a prosthesis — only eligibility.
  • Creatinine, had it been tested parametrically, would have been a significant baseline imbalance (p = 0.044) favouring the NPWT arm; the printed 0.116 implies a rank test that Table 3 does not label.
  • The Discussion states the unit has "begun using it routinely" on the strength of this trial.
  • No retracted reference — 23 of 28 matched to PubMed and checked. Two citations are malformed and one is a commercial prosthetics vendor's website, with an access date nine months after online publication.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 2 · Start HIGH (randomised). -1 risk of bias: the trial is unblinded and, critically, outcome assessment was unblinded for the first six postoperative days - the blinded wound-care specialists took over only from day 7, after the dressing had been removed, whereas surgical site infection by the CDC criteria the trial used can be diagnosed inside that window. Amputation level is reported for the whole cohort (30% above-knee, 70% below-knee) but not per arm and is absent from the baseline table, so the arms cannot be checked for balance on the strongest prognostic variable for stump healing; neither perfusion nor revascularisation is reported per arm. -1 imprecision: 50 patients, no effect estimate and no confidence interval anywhere in the paper, and four primary outcomes plus a secondary plus 25 further tests with no multiplicity adjustment. For infection, -1 further for the test-selection problem, which is decisive rather than pedantic: SSI (3/25 vs 9/25) is reported at p = 0.047 by UNCORRECTED CHI-SQUARE and is the only row in table 5 tested that way - the other three primary outcomes all use Fisher's exact, which on the same 3-versus-9 table returns p = 0.0955, with Yates-corrected chi-square at 0.098 and the relative-risk interval crossing one (RR 0.33, 95% CI 0.10-1.09). Expected counts are all above 5 so the choice is defensible, but it is outcome-specific and unexplained, and the trial's only significant primary outcome turns on it. Net VERY LOW for infection. For time to stump healing and prosthesis eligibility the picture is better: 5.12 ± 1.53 versus 6.8 ± 1.95 weeks, mean difference 1.68 weeks (95% CI 0.71 to 2.65 on my recomputation), p = 0.002 by both pooled and Welch t-test - a continuous outcome with a wide margin over the null. Net low. Note however that the outcome as measured is a COMPOSITE of stump healing AND a subjective eligibility judgement, made by an unstated assessor on unstated criteria in an unblinded trial, reported to two decimal places of a week from a weekly assessment schedule; and Table 2's whole-cohort value of 6.18 ± 2.18 weeks does not reconcile with the arm values, which imply 5.96 ± 1.93 and would require a control mean of 7.24 rather than 6.8.

Figures: Figures checked

Vaddavalli VV, Girdhani B, Savlania A, Behera A, Rastogi A, Kaman L, Abuji K. Effectiveness of incisional negative pressure wound therapy after major lower extremity amputation: a randomised controlled trial. Annals of the Royal College of Surgeons of England. 2023;106(5):418-424.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-08-01
Meta-analysis / SRGRADE ⊕◯◯◯ Very low2022Supports NPWT

INPWT for SSI in major limb amputations (open access)

Incisional negative pressure wound therapy to reduce surgical-site infections in major limb amputations: a meta-analysis — Frodl A, Geisteuer N, Fuchs A, Nymark T, Schmal H · EFORT Open Reviews
What it found
  • iNPWT was associated with significantly fewer postoperative wound complications: OR 0.52 (95% CI 0.30–0.89, P=0.02).
  • 30-day mortality was not significantly reduced (OR 0.81, 95% CI 0.46–1.45, P=0.48).
  • No significant difference in readmission or revision surgery between groups.
  • Authors recommend iNPWT for surgical-site-infection prevention in major lower-limb amputation "whenever applicable".
Limitations
  • Only 3 pooled studies; heterogeneity; no mortality benefit demonstrated.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 3 · All three pooled studies are retrospective case-control series at OCEBM level III. GRADE therefore begins Low, not High, and the earlier entry on this page that read OCEBM 1 was wrong. Each outcome has a different denominator and none of them is 457 except the first. Overall postoperative complications OR 0.52 (95% CI 0.30 to 0.89, P = 0.02) is pooled on all THREE studies and 457 patients. Wound infection OR 0.24 (95% CI 0.07 to 0.78, P = 0.02) is pooled on TWO studies and 148 patients — Chang 3/23 versus 12/31 and Gantz 1/47 versus 4/47, which reproduce individual odds ratios of 0.238 and 0.234 and a pooled 0.24 exactly; Stenqvist recorded wound complications as not defined. 30-DAY mortality is pooled on two studies and 403 patients, 56 deaths, 12.4 per cent with iNPWT against 15.2 per cent with standard care, which also reproduces exactly (23/186 and 33/217). A motivation that writes 457 next to the infection odds ratio is overstating the denominator by a factor of three. Two internal defects. First, the results section prints 30-day mortality as 'OR = 0.48; 95% CI: 0.46-1.45' while the abstract prints OR 0.81 with the same interval; the geometric mean of 0.46 and 1.45 is 0.817, so 0.81 is correct and 0.48 is a typographical error in the results text. Second, the paper states 'as we found low heterogeneity (I2 = 0%; P = 0.18), a random-effects model was used', which inverts the rule — I-squared of zero is the condition for a fixed-effect model. Tau-squared is never reported. Downgrade one further level for imprecision: three studies, and the upper bound of the composite estimate sits at 0.89. Readmission and revision surgery showed no difference, and mortality was null.

Figures: Figures checked

Frodl A, Geisteuer N, Fuchs A, Nymark T, Schmal H. Incisional negative pressure wound therapy to reduce surgical-site infections in major limb amputations: a meta-analysis. EFORT Open Rev. 2022;7(8):526–532.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-09-18
RCTGRADE ⊕⊕◯◯ Low2026Supports NPWT

Independent, randomised, in the right population, and underpowered

Effectiveness of Single-Use Negative Pressure Wound Therapy (PICO 7) in Chronic Lower Limb Wounds: A Randomized Clinical Trial — Villalba-Aguilar C, Laredo-Aguilera JA, Villalba-Aguilar L, Barroso-Corroto E, Del Viso-Cudero C, Serrano-Fernandez V, et al · J Clin Med 2026;15(16):6373
What it found
OutcomeFinding
Complete healing (primary)Greater mean wound-size reduction with PICO, difference not statistically significant
InfectionNone recorded in the intervention group
Quality of life (EuroQol-5D)Control declined significantly; PICO group stable
Physical activity (IPAQ)Control declined significantly; PICO group stable
CorrelationSmaller final wound size associated with more hours of sleep
Limitations
  • 31 patients analysed, below the calculated sample size; completer analysis, losses not fully enumerated in the sections read.
  • Primary endpoint not met.
  • Open-label, with self-reported quality of life, pain and activity from unblinded patients.
  • Quality-of-life findings are within-group, not between-group.
  • No multiplicity correction across eight outcome domains; no trial registration located.
  • Wounds with exposed muscle, tendon or bone excluded — the hardest cases are outside it.
  • Single Spanish centre.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 2 (randomised trial) / GRADE Low · Start HIGH (randomised, ethics-approved, independent, unfunded). −1 risk of bias: open-label, which the authors correctly describe as unavoidable since a pump on the leg cannot be masked; wound area and healing are assessed by unblinded staff, and pain, quality of life and physical activity are self-reported by unblinded patients. −1 imprecision, and it is decisive: 14 against 17 patients, below the calculated sample size, with the shortfall caused by dropouts and deaths. The authors state this as their first limitation and attribute the non-significant trends to it, which is the correct reading. Net low. Two points of design quality deserve recording because they are rare in this literature. First, both arms followed the dynamic time strategy for wound bed preparation, so the comparator is structured standard care rather than the undemanding 'conventional dressing' that inflates so many NPWT trials — this vault has repeatedly flagged weak comparators, and this one is not weak. Second, the exclusion criteria are strict and clinically sensible — malignancy, chemotherapy or corticosteroids, NPWT or hyperbaric oxygen in the preceding seven days, haematological abnormality, deep vein thrombosis, malnutrition, and exposure of muscle, tendon OR bone. That last exclusion matters for transfer: the trial studied wounds WITHOUT exposed deep structures, which is not the difficult end of the vascular caseload. Multiplicity is unaddressed: healing rate, healing time, area reduction, infection, adverse events, pain, quality of life and physical activity are all examined in 31 patients with no correction and no hierarchy, so any individual significant secondary finding must be read as exploratory.

Figures: Figures checked

Villalba-Aguilar C, Laredo-Aguilera JA, Villalba-Aguilar L, Barroso-Corroto E, Del Viso-Cudero C, Serrano-Fernandez V, Carmona-Torres JM. Effectiveness of Single-Use Negative Pressure Wound Therapy (Pico 7) in Chronic Lower Limb Wounds: A Randomized Clinical Trial. J Clin Med. 2026;15(16):6373 (Open access, published 18 August 2026. PMID backfilled 2026-09-08 from the verified document-supply list / PubMed ID converter.)
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-09-07
Case seriesNot graded2015Context

Non-inferiority asserted without a comparator

Use of NPWT with and without Soft Port technology in infected foot wounds undergoing partial diabetic foot amputation — Schwartz JA, Goss SG, Facchin F, Avdagic E, Lantis JC · J Wound Care 2015;24 Suppl 9:S4-S12
What it found

29 patients with diabetes, open bone resection in the foot for acutely infected wounds, NPWT with Soft Port technology for up to 112 days.

Delayed primary closure7 (24%), mean 58 days
Sufficient progress to change treatment15/29 (52%), mean 62 days
Reached 112 days without sufficient progress1
Wound area at end of treatment (mean 58.7 d)17.4 → 7.6 cm², −56.3%, p = 0.001
Wound area at 112 days→ 4.3 cm², −67.2%, p = 0.004

Main closure method: split-thickness skin graft.

Limitations
  • No concurrent control; non-inferiority claimed from cross-study comparison.
  • Timing asymmetry in the headline comparison favours this study by construction.
  • The two technologies under comparison were analysed pooled.
  • 29 patients, single centre.
  • No funding or conflict statement located in the copy held; the same senior author's companion paper declares industry funding and multiple consultancies.
  • Identifier note (corrected 2026-09-15). The record carries PMID 26352284 and DOI 10.12968/jowc.2015.24.Sup9.S4; the retraction screen runs against both. The page previously stated that neither was resolvable, which was wrong — the DOI probe had read the supplied PDF only.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 4 (uncontrolled prospective series with an external historical comparator) / GRADE not applicable — no concurrent comparison group, so no effect estimate exists to grade · GRADE does not apply — there is no concurrent comparator, so nothing is compared and no effect can be estimated. The paper's central claim is non-inferiority and its design cannot deliver it. A non-inferiority conclusion requires three things this study does not have: a PRE-SPECIFIED MARGIN, a concurrently allocated comparator, and a confidence interval tested against that margin. What is offered instead is this cohort's 75% closure-or-readiness at a mean of 69 days set against a published 56% at 56 days for NPWT and 39% at 77 days for standard care. The timing asymmetry alone invalidates the first comparison: a higher proportion closed after a longer interval is not evidence of a better therapy, and comparing 69 days against 56 days favours this study by construction. The same defect appears in evidence/Searle 2017 and evidence/Tabley 2020, and this vault treats cross-study rate comparison as uninterpretable wherever ascertainment, population and follow-up are not matched. The population is nevertheless the right one for this wiki — acutely infected diabetic foot wounds after open bone resection, which is a common vascular referral — And the within-cohort descriptive data are internally consistent: 24% underwent delayed primary closure at a mean of 58 days, 52% progressed sufficiently to change treatment at a mean of 62 days, only one patient reached 112 days without sufficient progress, and split-thickness skin grafting was the main closure method. Those are useful expectations for counselling a patient; they are not evidence of efficacy.

Figures: Figures checked

Schwartz JA, Goss SG, Facchin F, Avdagic E, Lantis JC. Use of NPWT with and without Soft Port technology in infected foot wounds undergoing partial diabetic foot amputation. J Wound Care. 2015;24(Suppl 9):S4-S12 (PMID and DOI both verified against the PubMed record 2026-09-15; full text read 2026-09-08.)
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-09-08

Guidance

South African guidance
WHASA 2021 (AGREE II 4/7)

Scores are this library's AGREE II appraisal of each guideline (out of 7). About guideline quality.

Coding and funding (South Africa)
A research aid. Verify codes against the current ICD-10 MIT, scheme rules and the PMB regulations before submission.
ICD-10
T87.5, T87.4, T87.6
PMB
915E via the underlying arterial/diabetic disease; 904S only if septicaemic (T87.4, T87.5)

All wound types: coding and funding

All 48 sources

More filters
Loading 48 sources…