NPWT Evidence Library
NPWT Evidence Library › Wound types › Burns

Burns

Burns — NPWT over the excised bed, as a graft bolster, and as an adjunct in small paediatric burns

SA evidence position: Guardedi 9 sources1 supporting NPWT at GRADE High or Moderate certainty
The SA evidence position is this library's synthesis, not an official guideline.

Three distinct uses, and they do not share an evidence base: (1) over the excised deep burn bed before grafting; (2) as a bolster over a fresh skin graft on a burn, which is the graft use in Skin-graft bolster and wound-bed optimisation before grafting applied to a burn; and (3) as an adjunct over standard dressings in small partial-thickness burns, where the one well-run trial sits. WHASA supports acute burn indications and states that NPWT is not a substitute for grafting (Bruwer 2021).

Protocol (PDF)All 9 sourcesReferences (RIS)Spreadsheet (CSV)

Evidence in one minute

What the evidence supports

  • Small partial-thickness burns in children, as an adjunct to silver and silicone dressings: re-epithelialisation in 8 vs 10 days, GRADE Moderate (Frear 2020, 114 children).
  • As bed preparation over an excised burn and as a bolster over a fresh graft. WHASA supports these acute uses, but not as a substitute for grafting.

Uncertain or not shown

  • Adults: there is no randomised trial of acceptable quality. The adult meta-analysis is very low certainty (Lin 2020), and a paediatric meta-analysis is not citable (Lou 2024).
  • In the children's trial, pain, itch and perfusion did not differ, and 10 of 114 stopped early because of the burden of treatment.

Harms and cautions

  • As at 2011, no NPWT system was cleared for newborns, infants or children: use in a child is a specialist-unit decision.

Do not use when

  • Eschar has not been excised, burn-wound sepsis is undrained, or the dressing would be circumferential on a limb.
Usual settings: bed preparation −80 to −125 mmHg continuous, changed every 48–72 h; graft bolster −50 to −80 mmHg, left undisturbed for 4–5 days; children: lower pressures by age, in a specialist unit (see the protocol).

Key studies

RCTGRADE ⊕⊕⊕◯ Moderate2020Supports NPWT

A properly blinded randomised trial, and it is not about adults

Randomized clinical trial of negative pressure wound therapy as an adjunctive treatment for small-area thermal burns in children — Frear CC, Cuttle L, McPhail SM, Chatfield MD, Kimble RM, Griffin BR · Br J Surg 2020;107(13):1741-50
What it found
OutcomeNPWT + Acticoat/MepitelActicoat/Mepitel alone
Median time to re-epithelialisation8 days (IQR 7–11)10 days (IQR 8–14)
Expected time to wound closurereduced by 22% (95% CI 7 to 34), P = 0.005—
Referral to scar managementrisk reduced 60% (95% CI 18 to 81), P = 0.013—
Grafting1 patient4 patients
Pain, itchno significant difference
Laser Doppler perfusionno significant difference

114 children randomised. Ten discontinued early, which the authors attribute to the treatment burden of NPWT.

Limitations
  • Single centre, 114 children. The 22% estimate has a wide interval, 7% to 34%.
  • Scar-management referral is a clinician decision, not a measured outcome, and was secondary.
  • Patients and treating staff could not be blinded; only the photographic assessor was.
  • Ten early discontinuations in a trial of 114.
  • Population entirely outside this practice's scope.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 1 · START HIGH — a prospectively registered, randomised, single-centre trial with blinded photographic outcome assessment, which is the hardest thing to achieve in NPWT research and is the reason most of this literature is downgraded. NOT downgraded for risk of bias on the primary outcome: allocation was randomised and the assessor could not see which arm a photograph came from. MINUS 1 for imprecision and single-centre conduct: 114 children in one unit, with the primary estimate a 22% reduction in expected time to closure whose interval runs from 7% to 34% — a wide band around a real effect. MINUS nothing for indirectness WITHIN its population and EVERYTHING for indirectness outside it: small-area thermal burns in children have no counterpart in an adult vascular caseload. NET MODERATE for the population studied. The scar-referral outcome is rated lower, at Low: a 60% relative reduction with an interval of 18 to 81% is a secondary endpoint with few events, referral is a clinician decision rather than a measured state, and it was not the trial's primary question.

Figures: Figures checked

Frear CC, Cuttle L, McPhail SM, Chatfield MD, Kimble RM, Griffin BR. Randomized clinical trial of negative pressure wound therapy as an adjunctive treatment for small-area thermal burns in children. Br J Surg. 2020;107(13):1741-50 (Prospectively registered ACTRN12618000256279. No manufacturer authorship.)
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-09-07
Meta-analysis / SRGRADE ⊕◯◯◯ Very low2020Challenges NPWT

The only pooled burns estimate in the library, rated High certainty at I-squared 94 per cent

Negative pressure wound therapy for burn patients: a meta-analysis and systematic review — Lin DZ, Kao YC, Chen C, Wang HJ, Chiu WK · Int Wound J 2021;18(1):112-123 (published online 25 November 2020)
What it found
OutcomeTrialsNPWTControlEstimate (95% CI)I²PReview's GRADE
Graft take rate, week 1 — overall412085SMD 2.62 (1.01, 4.22)94%.001HIGH
— NPWT + dermal substitute + graft vs dermal substitute + graft———SMD 0.20 (−0.40, 0.79) — NULL—.65—
— NPWT + split-thickness graft vs graft alone———SMD 0.63 (−0.86, 2.13) — NULL86%.41—
— NPWT + dermal substitute vs dermal substitute———SMD 5.93 (4.27, 7.60)—< .0001—
— NPWT vs dermal substitute———SMD 8.52 (6.05, 11.00)—< .00001—
— NPWT vs conventional dressing alone———SMD 1.91 (1.03, 2.79)—< .00001—
Infection rate210/266 = 3.8%26/247 = 10.5%OR 0.12 (0.02, 0.87)78%.04Low
Overall complication rate441/346 = 11.8%55/321 = 17.1%OR 0.59 (0.16, 2.17) — NULL78%.42Low

Every figure in the GRADE table reconciles (recomputed). 10/266 = 3.76 per cent against a printed 3.8 ✓; 26/247 = 10.53 against 10.5 ✓; 41/346 = 11.85 against 11.8 ✓; 55/321 = 17.13 against 17.1 ✓. The absolute effects reconcile too, converting each odds ratio against the control risk: infection 91 fewer per 1,000 (103 fewer to 12 fewer) — recomputed 91.1, 102.7 and 12.4 ✓; overall complications 63 fewer per 1,000 (139 fewer to 138 more) — recomputed 62.5, 139.2 and 138.2 ✓. The arithmetic of this paper is sound. Its inferences are not.

The infection estimate is far more extreme than its own raw counts. Crude, unweighted, the odds ratio recomputed from 10/266 against 26/247 is 0.33. The pooled random-effects estimate is 0.12, with I² of 78 per cent across two studies — one of which shares its title with the other. The distance between 0.33 and 0.12 is entirely a product of how two heterogeneous studies were weighted.

The two subgroups a clinician would actually act on are both null. Adding NPWT to a split-thickness skin graft made no difference (SMD 0.63, −0.86 to 2.13, I² 86 per cent), and adding NPWT to a dermal-substitute-plus-graft construct made no difference (SMD 0.20, −0.40 to 0.79). The significant subgroups are the ones in which NPWT replaces something rather than being added to it — NPWT against a dermal substitute alone, or against a conventional dressing alone. The abstract reports only the pooled 2.62 and the review's own Conclusion recommends incorporation into burn guidelines.

…

Limitations
  • One database. PubMed alone, with a three-term keyword string, restricted to English and Chinese. No Embase, no CENTRAL, no CNKI, no trial registry, no grey literature, no reference-list search.
  • No PROSPERO registration and no protocol. The five-subgroup structure of the primary analysis cannot be verified as prespecified.
  • No funding statement and no conflict-of-interest declaration appear in the article. Recorded as NOT REPORTED.
  • The GRADE table rates the primary outcome High certainty with "not serious" risk of bias and "not serious" inconsistency, contradicting the paper's own risk-of-bias findings and its own printed I² of 94 per cent.
  • Two included studies carry the identical title and together constitute the entire infection analysis; one of them supplies 64 per cent of the review's patients and is attributed to a surname with no initials.
  • No analysis uses the headline figure of 701 patients.
  • The pooled graft-take estimate combines four incomparable comparisons, and the two comparisons that represent an actual clinical decision — add NPWT to a graft, or add it to a graft plus dermal substitute — are both null.
  • Standardised mean differences of 5.93 and 8.52 are artefacts of implausibly small reported standard deviations and are not usable effect sizes.
  • No pooling model is specified anywhere in the statistical methods section.
  • No sensitivity analysis, no heterogeneity investigation and no publication-bias assessment of any kind.
  • No list of excluded studies.
  • Table 1 does not extract from the published PDF, so the per-trial characteristics and the domain-by-domain risk-of-bias grid could not be independently checked.
  • No outcome that a funder pays for. No length of stay, no number of theatre visits, no time to definitive closure, no cost, no scar or quality-of-life outcome, no mortality.
  • Adverse effects are reported only narratively, and the review's safety discussion is drawn from secondary sources rather than from the included trials — five air leaks in one trial is the only device-related event recorded. The blistering harm the wiki declares on NPWT safety, harms and adverse events is not assessed here.
  • Nothing here is South African, and although one trial used a wall-suction-scale pressure of −9.30 kPa, no improvised device is described; see Improvised and wall-suction NPWT.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 1 · START HIGH — a meta-analysis of randomised trials. −2 risk of bias, which is a full two-step downgrade and is deliberate. By the review's own section 4.5, allocation concealment was at LOW risk in ONE of six trials, unclear in one and high in the remaining four; blinding of participants and personnel was at low risk in NONE; blinding of outcome assessment was at low risk in ONE. Two of the six are Chinese-language reports, one of which is a single-page entry in an electronic literature journal attributed to a surname with no initials. And two of the six carry the identical title, raising a duplicate-publication question the review never asks. −1 inconsistency for the primary outcome. I-squared is 94 per cent for the overall graft-take estimate and 86 per cent for the split-thickness-graft subgroup. The GRADE table rates this 'not serious'. −1 indirectness of the pooled comparison. The overall graft-take estimate combines four different contrasts with four different comparators — dermal substitute alone, split-thickness graft alone, conventional dressing, and graft plus dermal substitute — into one number, which is not an estimate of any single clinical decision. −1 imprecision for the two complication outcomes. Infection rests on two studies, of which one has an identical title to the other, with 36 events in total; overall complications on four studies with 96 events and an interval running from 0.16 to 2.17. Net very low for all three outcomes. The direction is plausible and should be said: NPWT probably improves early graft take on a burn wound and probably does not increase complications, which is consistent with the wiki's separate skin-graft evidence. What this paper cannot support is a magnitude — A standardised mean difference of 2.62, let alone the subgroup value of 8.52, is not a credible effect size for a graft-take percentage and is an artefact of pooling trials that report standard deviations of 1.0 and 0.3.

Figures: Figures checked

Lin DZ, Kao YC, Chen C, Wang HJ, Chiu WK. Negative pressure wound therapy for burn patients: a meta-analysis and systematic review. Int Wound J. 2021;18(1):112-123 (no funding statement and no conflict-of-interest declaration appears in the article — recorded as NOT REPORTED, not as an absence of conflict. Open access under CC BY-NC. Published by Medicalhelplines.com Inc (3M) and John Wiley & Sons Ltd — 3M owns the KCI NPWT portfolio, which is a publisher relationship and not an author one, and is recorded here because the article declares no funding. Received 7 July 2020; revised 20 August 2020; accepted 21 August 2020; published online 25 November 2020.)
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-08-10
Meta-analysis / SRGRADE ⊕⊕◯◯ Low2024Supports NPWT

The paediatric burns evidence, and the p-values in its abstract are the wrong ones

The efficacy and safety of negative pressure wound therapy in paediatric burns: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials — Lou J, Zhu X, Xiang Z, Fan Y, Song J, Huang N, et al · BMC Pediatrics 2024;24(1):807
What it found

Every pooled estimate reproduced exactly by a hand-coded DerSimonian-Laird routine — the meta-analytic arithmetic is sound. What does not survive is the interpretation.

OutcomekEffect (95% CI)I²Recomputed effect p
Healing time9SMD −1.60 (−2.26 to −0.95)92.8%1.4 x 10⁻⁶
Healing rate6RR 1.17 (0.99 to 1.39)78.0%0.059 — NULL
Dressing changes6SMD −4.60 (−5.84 to −3.36)92.4%3.2 x 10⁻¹³
Positive bacteria3RR 0.61 (0.26 to 1.46)81.8%0.269 — NULL
Adverse reactions7RR 0.61 (0.33 to 1.12)68.0%0.110 — NULL
Scar scale scores5SMD −1.66 (−2.54 to −0.79)89.4%2.1 x 10⁻⁴
Treatment costs5SMD +0.92 (−1.66 to +3.49)98.4%0.487 — NULL, AND FAVOURING THE COMPARATOR

Converted to natural units, healing time is a pooled mean difference of −3.73 days (−5.40 to −2.06), I² 97.3%, with study-level differences from −10.7 days to +0.6 days.

Limitations

1. Four of seven pooled outcomes are null but reported as significant (boxed above). 2. Heterogeneity p-values presented as effect p-values throughout the abstract. 3. The cost result is reported with the wrong sign. 4. Duplicated arms. Yao-1 and Yao-2 share one NPWT arm of 20 children; Zhang-1 and Zhang-2 share one control arm of 34. The 20 and the 34 are double-counted across six outcomes. 5. Patient totals do not reconcile. Table 1 arms sum to 579 and 577; the Results state 559 and 543; the abstract states 1,033. Subtracting the 49 within-subject participants gives 1,053, not 1,033. 6. Li 2018 appears with three different sample sizes in one paper — 15/15 in Table 1, 10/9 in one forest plot, 30/30 in another. 7. Zheng 2019's bacteriology is double-counted as a safety outcome — 10/32 against 20/32 appears identically in the positive-bacteria and adverse-reaction pools. 8. Shen 2013's "adverse reactions" is the incidence of HIGH FEVER — 39/145 against 103/162 matches the source exactly. It carries 25.3% of the safety pool. 9. Two ineligible designs pooled in an RCT-only review — Yuan 2016 is indexed as a Comparative Study with a historical control and self-assigns Level IV; Cai 2017's own abstract describes a single-arm series and it is entered as 25 against 25, the same 25 children before and after. 10. Publication bias tested at k = 3 to k = 9, always reported negative; one leave-one-out plot shows four rows for a three-study meta-analysis. 11. Table 1 arithmetic errors — one trial with 24 patients per arm lists "Male 25, Female 23" in both arms; another lists 47 in the NPWT row with "Male 59, Female 42". 12. No search dates, no GRADE, no excluded-study list, no funding of included studies, and the abstract promises mean differences that are never reported. 13. Reference [13], cited as the Cochrane Handbook, is a protocol for a venous thromboembolism prophylaxis review. 14. Discussion overreach. It asserts NPWT "significantly reduced the incidence of complications and the total cost of treatment" — both null, the cost favouring the comparator. The Results section states the opposite of its own figure: "the detection rate of positive bacteria was higher in the treatment group... (RR = 0.61...)". One sentence contradicts itself: "we believe that the treatment of NPWT in pediatric burns is relatively safe, with a higher probability of complications/adverse reactions." Frear's finding of more adverse reactions is set aside on the grounds that "we did not contact the authors to obtain more relevant details", when Frear is the highest-quality trial in the set. 15. Retraction screen. Five included studies are PubMed-indexed and all five are clean. Seven Chinese-language studies are not indexed in PubMed at all and cannot be retraction-screened by that route. Yuan XG 2016 is not the retracted Yuan 2023 the wiki has previously flagged. 16. Funding is Chinese public and institutional; no device-manufacturer funding declared; conflicts "The authors declare no competing interests."

Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 1 · Start HIGH (meta-analysis of randomised trials). -1 risk of bias: Thirteen of fourteen pooled comparison entries used Chinese vacuum sealing drainage OR improvised suction rather than a commercial regulated NPWT system, at pressures printed anywhere from 0.02 kPa to -53 kPa, including one arm where 'no external negative pressure was needed'; two included designs do not meet the review's own randomised-only eligibility criterion, one being indexed as a comparative study with a historical control and self-assigning Level IV, and the other describing a SINGLE-ARM SERIES in its own abstract while being entered as 25 against 25, the same 25 children before and after; and blinding is low-risk in only two studies for participants and personnel and three for outcome assessment. -1 inconsistency: I-squared runs from 68% to 98.4%, and the review's single attempted subgroup analysis did not explain it. -1 indirectness: the device conflation above means the pooled estimates do not describe the therapy a South African motivation would fund. Net LOW for healing time and dressing changes, which are the two outcomes that reproduce, hold in every leave-one-out permutation and are large. For the other four outcomes there is nothing to GRADE, because they are null and are reported as significant. Recomputed effect p-values: healing rate 0.059, positive bacteria 0.269, adverse reactions 0.110, treatment costs 0.487. And the cost result is inverted - SMD +0.92 means costs were HIGHER in the NPWT arm, and the abstract lists it among 'significant reductions' while the Results text says NPWT 'significantly reduced costs'. It is neither a reduction nor significant.

Figures: Figures checked

Lou J, Zhu X, Xiang Z, Fan Y, Song J, Huang N, Li J, Jin G, Cui S. The efficacy and safety of negative pressure wound therapy in paediatric burns: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. BMC Pediatrics. 2024;24(1):807.
PubMedDOIReviewed 2026-08-01
Guideline / consensusGuideline quality: not scored2026Supports NPWT

An independent national consensus that lands on −80 mmHg

Consensus guidelines on negative pressure wound therapy for wound repair (2025 version) — Greater Bay Area Chronic Wound Care Standardization Alliance · Regenesis Repair Rehabilitation 2026;2(1):73-79
What it found

Two separate operations, two separate endpoints, the same answer: −80 mmHg beats −125 mmHg.

SettingFinding
Skin graftingNPWT raised graft survival 8.3% overall, and 10.0% at −80 mmHg. −125 mmHg "does not yield a similar beneficial effect."
Caesarean ciNPWT11 RCTs — 6 at −80 mmHg, 5 at −125 mmHg. −80 mmHg significantly improved composite and superficial SSI; −125 mmHg did not.

This vault has argued the low-pressure position from Evangelista 2013 (>95% take at 50–125 mmHg), Nakamura 2018 (50 mmHg) and Mowers 2026 (contraction rises with pressure).

Huang adds something none of those supply: a comparative clinical finding, in humans, at scale, from an independent guideline panel — that the higher setting is not merely unnecessary but does not work as well.

Limitations
  • No search strategy, databases, or date limits reported, and no evidence-to-decision table — the grades are visible but not auditable.
  • No patient or public involvement; individual panel members not listed in the copy read.
  • No implementation guidance, resource implications, audit criteria or cost discussion.
  • No contraindications and no complication management, stated by the authors.
  • Chinese practice and device availability; not a South African document and not a substitute for WHASA 2021.
  • Journal not indexed in PubMed, and the DOI printed on the article does not exist. 10.1016/j.rerere.2026.01.002 was tested on 2026-09-15: Crossref returns Resource not found, and the global DOI handle system returns responseCode 100 (handle not found), so the string is not a registered DOI anywhere — not merely one Crossref has yet to index. It has been removed from this record rather than published as a link that fails for the reader. No identifier resolves for this document, which limits the retraction screen and means a scheme cannot verify it; the copy is held on file. Re-test against the publisher's own landing page before the DOI is restored.
Appraisal and reference

CAT: OCEBM 1 (national consensus guideline with GRADE appraisal and registered protocol) / GRADE not applicable to a guideline as a whole — AGREE II applied. The guideline's own per-recommendation Evidence Levels and Recommendation Strengths are reported verbatim below · GRADE is not the instrument for a guideline and must not be applied to it as a whole — AGREE II IS, and it is set out below. What can be reported is the guideline's own grading of each recommendation, which it states transparently. The recommendations this vault will actually use: vascular reconstruction and interventional procedures — prophylactic NPWT recommended to reduce inguinal SSI, evidence level II, recommendation strength b, covering endovascular aortic repair, thoracic endovascular aortic repair and lower extremity revascularisation, with the explicit limitation that against conventional dressings NPWT shows NO significant difference in readmission, 30-day mortality, antibiotic cost or length of stay. Skin graft and tendon OR bone exposure — artificial dermis with NPWT then split-thickness graft in two stages, evidence level i, strength a. Sternal — NPWT for sternal infection promotes healing, reduces mortality and shortens stay, LEVEL II STRENGTH B; prophylaxis in cardiac surgery level II strength b. Diabetic foot — recommended with strict pressure monitoring at 50 to 100 mmHg, level i strength a, and current evidence does not support irrigated over non-irrigated NPWT. Abdominal surgery — reduces SSI and seroma but NOT wound-healing problems, seroma formation or readmission, level II strength b. Pressure injuries — LEVEL III STRENGTH C, the weakest recommendation in the document and correctly graded so. The document's central contribution to this vault is the two convergent pressure comparisons favouring minus 80 over minus 125 mmHg, described in the integrity note.

Figures: Figures checked

Greater Bay Area Chronic Wound Care Standardization Alliance; Huang GT, Wei YT. Consensus guidelines on negative pressure wound therapy for wound repair (2025 version). Regenesis Repair Rehabilitation. 2026;2(1):73-79 (Corresponding authors Huang Guangtao and Wei Yating, Department of Burn and Plastic Surgery, The First Affiliated Hospital of Shenzhen University. Submitted to this wiki by Dr Eksteen. No PubMed identifier was resolvable for this journal at the time of writing and is recorded as an em dash rather than guessed.)
Full textReviewed 2026-09-09
Guideline / consensusGuideline quality 4/72021Supports NPWT

WHASA NPWT recommendations (South Africa)

The use of negative pressure wound therapy: Recommendations by the Wound Healing Association of Southern Africa (WHASA) — Bruwer FA, Kairinos N, Adams K, Weir G, Sander J · Wound Healing Southern Africa
What it found
  • Four core mechanisms of action underpin every indication: (1) reduces tissue oedema; (2) increases granulation tissue formation; (3) increased perfusion as a secondary/later effect; (4) with instillation and dwell time can reduce wound contamination.
  • Vascular surgery: high-level evidence supports NPWT for infected vessels and prosthetic vascular grafts — strong recommendation for high-risk surgical patients with a fully exposed, infected prosthetic vascular graft, together with debridement and appropriate antibiotics; continuous suction at lower levels (-50 to -100 mmHg) recommended to avoid bleeding.
  • Traumatic/surgical wounds: NPWT is first-line for preoperative wound-bed preparation post-debridement, typically 7-10 days before definitive surgery; strong for open fractures that cannot be closed primarily (used between debridement and reconstruction); caution when tendon/bone exposed; do not use if underlying arterial impairment is not addressed (red).
  • Diabetic foot ulcers: first-line post-surgical treatment for DFU once ischaemia is excluded (University of Texas Grade A2/A3); consider for chronic DFU not progressing after 4 weeks; contraindicated where ischaemia is due to concomitant peripheral arterial disease (red).
  • Sternal dehiscence: NPWT is the method of choice for post-sternotomy mediastinitis (strong); caution in the haemodynamically unstable patient; the open sternum with exposed vulnerable structures is not an indication (red).
  • Abdominal / dehisced abdominal wounds: strong for the open abdomen and for dehisced wounds with intact abdominal wall; NPWT with instillation (NPWTi-d) is effective in reducing infection in the infected open/dehisced abdomen (moderate); do not use if size/severity does not merit it.
  • Skin grafts, burns, venous ulcers, pressure injuries, enterocutaneous fistulae: NPWT endorsed for wound-bed optimisation before grafting and intra-operative graft stabilisation; acute burn indications supported but not a substitute for grafting; venous ulcers only if <30% area reduction in 4 weeks and ABPI 0.8-1.2 (contraindicated if ABPI <0.6); NPIAP stage 3/4 pressure injuries until surgical closure (moderate); ECF in selected collapsible/low-output cases only, never in unexplored fistulae.
  • Closed incisional NPWT (ciNPT): recommended to decrease wound complications, dehiscence, haematoma/seroma and surgical site infection (strong).
  • Contraindications listed: clotting disorders, active non-capillary bleeding post-debridement, exposed organs/vasculature/anastomoses, eschar or dry necrosis, neoplastic tissue, untreated osteomyelitis, non-enteric and unexplored fistulae.
Limitations
  • Consensus/position statement adapted from EWMA rather than a fresh systematic literature review; the panel acknowledges much of the underlying NPWT RCT evidence is of variable quality.
  • Recommendations are guidance, not mandates; the document states each case must be judged on its own merit against the four mechanisms of action.
  • No single standardised pressure/duration protocol is prescribed; parameters vary by aetiology.
Appraisal and reference

AGREE II: Recommended with modifications — Scope 67% · Stakeholders 56% · Rigour 23% · Clarity 67% · Applicability 46% · Independence 25%

Figures: Figures checked

Bruwer FA, Kairinos N, Adams K, Weir G, Sander J. The use of negative pressure wound therapy: Recommendations by the Wound Healing Association of Southern Africa (WHASA). Wound Healing Southern Africa. 2021;14(2):40-51.
Full textReviewed 2026-07-27

Guidance

South African guidance
WHASA 2021 (AGREE II 4/7) — acute burn indications supported, not a substitute for grafting

Scores are this library's AGREE II appraisal of each guideline (out of 7). About guideline quality.

Coding and funding (South Africa)
A research aid. Verify codes against the current ICD-10 MIT, scheme rules and the PMB regulations before submission.
ICD-10
T31.x with the site code T20-T25
PMB
900J — burns >10% of body surface, or >5% involving head, neck, hands or perineum (T20–T25, T31.1–T31.9 listed); smaller burns elsewhere are not PMB-level

All wound types: coding and funding

All 9 sources

More filters
Loading 9 sources…