The Cochrane review the wiki flagged as missing, and it is uninformative by design
What it found
Rencüzoğulları 2015 — Turkey, single centre, 40 randomised, NPWT versus Bogota bag, no sample-size calculation, funding and interests not reported.
| Outcome | NPWT | Bogota bag | Estimate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Time to primary fascial closure | 16.9 (SD 3.2) d | 20.5 (SD 9.9) d | MD −3.60 (−8.16 to 0.96), P = 0.12 |
| Fistula formation | 2/20 | 1/20 | RR 2.00 (0.20 to 20.33), P = 0.56 |
| All-cause mortality | 5/20 | 7/20 | RR 0.71 (0.27 to 1.88), P = 0.49 |
| Length of stay | 28.5 (21.3) d | 27.4 (25.3) d | MD 1.10 (−13.39 to 15.59), P = 0.88 |
Auer 2021 — Austria, single centre, August 2010 to September 2012, 34 randomised, Suprasorb CNP versus ABThera, sample-size calculation present, funded by a medical university scientific budget, no declared interests.
| Outcome | Suprasorb CNP | ABThera | Estimate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primary fascial closure | 15/17 (88.2%) | 12/17 (70.6%) | RR 0.80 (0.56 to 1.14), P = 0.21 |
| Fistula formation | 0/17 | 4/17 (23.5%) | RR 0.11 (0.01 to 1.92), P = 0.13 |
| All-cause mortality | 1/17 | 3/17 | RR 0.33 (0.04 to 2.89), P = 0.32 |
| Reoperation | 17/17 | 17/17 | RR 1.00 (0.90 to 1.12) |
There is no trial comparing NPWT with any temporary abdominal closure other than the Bogota bag. The review says so in terms.
Limitations
- The device-comparison risk ratio is arm-swapped. The abstract reads "Suprasorb CNP system: 88.2% versus ABThera system: 70.6% (RR 0.80, 95% CI 0.56 to 1.14)" — a point estimate below 1 attached to the higher rate in the numerator. Analysis 2.1 shows why: the columns are entered ABThera 12/17 first, Suprasorb 15/17 second, the reverse of Analyses 2.2, 2.3 and 2.4. The contrast actually computed is 0.80 = 12/15, ABThera versus Suprasorb. Summary of findings 2 then propagates the swap in the opposite direction, printing "Risk with ABThera system 882 per 1000" and "Risk with Suprasorb CNP system 706 per 1000" — which contradicts the results text. Three places disagree on which arm achieved 88.2%.
- Summary of findings 1 caps the fistula upper bound at "1000 per 1000" (RR 20.33 × 50/1000 = 1016).
- Summary of findings 2 omits reoperation rate although the text downgrades and reports it.
- The review's own footnote on the time-to-closure estimate: "these may not be reliable data, because this study did not report whether all participants reached primary fascial closure" — and with 12 of 40 deaths in that trial, a mean computed over 20 per arm cannot be read as a closure time.
Everything else reconciles against the raw counts.
Appraisal and reference
CAT: OCEBM 1 / The review's OWN GRADE rating is reproduced - VERY LOW certainty for every outcome · The review's ratings are reproduced rather than re-derived. The evidence base is two trials and 74 adults. Against a Bogota bag (Rencuzogullari 2015, Turkey, 40 patients, no sample-size calculation, funding and interests not reported): time to fascial closure MD -3.60 days (95% CI -8.16 to 0.96), P = 0.12; fistula formation 2/20 against 1/20, RR 2.00 (0.20 to 20.33); mortality 5/20 against 7/20, RR 0.71 (0.27 to 1.88); length of stay MD 1.10 days (-13.39 to 15.59). Comparing two commercial devices (Auer 2021, Austria, 34 patients): fascial closure 15/17 against 12/17, RR 0.80 (0.56 to 1.14); FISTULA 0/17 AGAINST 4/17, RR 0.11 (0.01 to 1.92); mortality 1/17 against 3/17; reoperation 17/17 against 17/17. Not one estimate excludes the null. The review's own risk-of-bias output: both trials at high risk overall - Auer low risk for sequence generation and allocation concealment, high risk for performance and detection blinding, and high risk on 'other' for baseline BMI imbalance; Rencuzogullari unclear on sequence generation and allocation concealment and high risk for blinding. A further limitation the review flags itself, and which the wiki should carry, is that the time-to-closure estimate is unusable: 'these may not be reliable data, because this study did not report whether all participants reached primary fascial closure' - and with 12 of 40 deaths in that trial, a mean computed over 20 per arm is not a closure time. Indirectness is also conceded: 10 of 74 participants (13.5%) are trauma patients in a review whose title and objective exclude them, handled by downgrading rather than exclusion. The value of this review is not its effect estimates, which are uninformative. It is that it constitutes a formal, grade-rated statement that the fistula-causation question remains unresolved by randomised evidence - a documented uncertainty the safety panel can cite instead of an opinion - and that it establishes that no trial compares NPWT with any temporary abdominal closure other than the Bogota bag.
Figures: Figures checked